Latest Reviews from 2016 to date

Previous

169.  District Mail, page 16, 16.2.17, Somerset West, Western Cape, SA, “Ike Moriz set to enthral Playhouse audiences this month” 

district mail 16.2.17 Ike Moriz Playhouse Theatre Love Swings show sextet jazz band swing theatre show

(Learn more about Ike Moriz who will be adding his special touch to the month of love here in the Helderberg. Tamsyn Gantries quizzed him on a few things.)

How long have you been an entertainer?
I finished both my four-year music degrees in Germany in 1999 and immediately started working as a singer and actor in London. My
first single, Fall Into the Sun, produced by George Michael's producer, was released in 2002 and was also my first number 1 hit. This year it’s been 15 years since the start of my solo career and around 22 years since starting to do music and acting full time.

Did you always want to be an entertainer or is it something that just gradually happened? 
I always knew I was going to be doing something creative and arty. Initially I wanted to be a writer and actor, but realised soon that I could combine everything in my singing/song writing career.

Why did you choose this genre of music?
I currently work in many different genres, from BluesRock music and pop to jazz, swing, Latin and easy listening. The latter developed over the years as it was the most popular genre among my audiences both here in SA and overseas. I love sharing my songs and seeing the joy in people’s faces as they listen to my own melodies and those of the old standards.

What can audiences look forward to when
attending one of your shows? 
My band of top musicians and I will take you on a journey through the hits of the swing and jazz eras, as well as my own classics of this genre. We all have played and worked with these songs for many years and it will be lots of fun to inject new life as well as some surprises into these timeless classics.

When writing music, what do you draw
inspiration from? 
I’m very sensitive to my environment, especially the beautiful nature of the Cape with its positive and friendly people. It’s a big inspiration to me, as well as my wife and children and the way they see the
world.

Where would you most like to perform? In South Africa I’ve pretty much performed everywhere, from Kirstenbosch Gardens and other most amazing venues across the country to city halls, and so on. At the moment I’m doing more and more tours overseas during our winter months, and there are too many places to mention here.

Do you have any “crazy” fan moments?
Quite a few. It often involves people having had one or two drinks too many suddenly sharing the stage in wild singalong outbreaks or otherwise. One of the strangest requests I had, was someone asking me if I sell Michael BubléCDs. . .

What has been your most memorable performance to date? 
My sellout tour in Germany last year was quite amazing, and I was also blown away by singing with the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra.

Who is your favourite artist right now and why? 
My favourite artist of all time remains David Bowie (Official Fan Site). He’s been the biggest inspiration to me because of his ability to explore new musical genres. His authenticity in what he did was incredible.

What do you do to unwind? 
I love hiking and spending time in nature. I love the Cape more than any other place in the world.

Catch this crooner at the Playhouse Theatre Somerset West on Friday 24 and Saturday 25 February. Tickets, at R120, are available
from Computicket.


168. People’s Post, page 10, Louisa Steyl, Cape Town, South Africa, 08.11.16: "Crooner swings hits, own tunes"

Fresh from his nine-week sold-out tour of Germany, local crooner Ike Moriz is busy putting the finishing touches on his new show. Ike, who lives in Hout Bay, has rounded up some of Cape Town’s finest musicians to join him for an evening of swing favourites when he presents Love Swings at The Rockwell Theatre​ on Saturday.He’ll be joined by Amanda Tiffin​ (piano), Marc De Kock​ (sax), Kevin Gibson (drums), David James Ledbetter​ (guitar) and Sean Sanby​ (double bass) who’ll also be playing some of Ike’s own compositions from his 17-album repertoire.

Originally from Germany, Ike has been living in South Africa since the early 1990s, when he was playing indie rock. His musical studies in Germany, the Netherlands and South Africa, coupled with his performance experience in London, mean that Ike’s influences range from rock and blues to Latin and more easy listening sounds. Lately, however, he says he’s been playing a lot of jazz. “I think most people now know me for the swing and jazz.” It was a pop album that put him on the map though. Ike was living in London, after finishing his studies, when he met George Michael’s producer Steve Kent, with whom he recorded the single “Fall into the Sun”. “It was played in 17 countries,” Ike says, adding: “That was a great start.” While Love Swings will include songs from Ike’s album with the same name, his latest album, Debonaire, released earlier this year, is more experimental. “It’s a bit more electronic and poppy,” he explains. “It’s also the old standards, but with a different beat.”

Not one to let the grass grow under his feet, Ike is already working on a new album, Gold Rush, which he describes as a pop/rock record he hopes to launch it early next year. “The title track is a bit of a James Bond song,” he says jokingly. “It’s a cynical look at what’s going on in the country.” But the album is not just negative, because as Ike points out, there are also a lot of positive things happening in South Africa. Like many of his other albums, Ike is recording at Paris Studios in Fish Hoek. While a lot of his releases are thematically the same, Ike always tries to add a different flavour to his music and often jumps between genres. “I’m always excited to try out new things.” For his show on Saturday, Ike says music fans can look forward to songs by Frank Sinatra​ and Michael Bublé​, along with some of his own songs that fans know. “We’re going to throw in a little bit of blues as well, just to make it interesting.” 

Playing around

He’s also played around with standards. He will perform a Latin version of “Mack the Knife”, for example. Ike says he’s excited for the opportunity to perform with a big band as he doesn’t often get the chance. “It’s an incredible band – they are super tight.” After this weekend, Ike plans to take the show to other theatres and tour the north of the country. “I think I’ve got a bit more to offer than just the usual jazz standards because a lot of my stuff is original – but it still sounds like the standards.”

Ike Moriz will be performing Love Swings at the Rockwell Theatre in Green Point on Saturday at 20:00 (doors open at 19:00). Tickets for the show cost R125 and are available from www.quicket.co.za. For more information about Ike visit www.ikemoriz.com. IKE MORIZ will be performing Love Swings at the Rockwell Theatre this weekend. PHOTO: Grant Smithers Photography​

#PeoplesPost #LoveSwings #Debonaire #IkeMoriz #RockwellTheatre #IkeMorizOnTour #AmandaTiffin #DaveLedbetter #KevinGibson #MarcDeKock #SeanSanby #jazz #swing #blues #sextet #live #CapeTown #SouthAfrica #Greenpoint

167. Sentinel News, page 10, Yolande Du Preez, Cape Town, South Africa, 16.09.16: “Sizzling overseas"

 

photo by Guido Schwarz Photography (www.guidoschwarz.com)

Hout Bay singer, producer and actor IKE MORIZ returns from a sold-out tour of northern Germany, teaming up with surprise guests to play in an intimate live session at cafe Roux​ in Noordhoek Farm Village​ on Wednesday September 21, at 8pm. His tour was to promote his original swing/jazz/Latin CD #LoveSwings and to launch his smooth lounge album #Debonaire. His songs have topped charts in the UK, Holland, South Africa and Germany, and top SA performers, such as Judith Sephuma and The Parlotones, have shared a stage with him. Since 2002, Ike has recorded 17 albums ranging from original melodic indie rock/pop to jazzy swing. He is recording a rock, pop and blues album – at Paris Zannos​’s PARIS Recording Studios in Fish Hoek – called Gold Rush, reflecting on the insane times we’re living in. 

On the home front, Ike is a family man who wrote the anthem for the Volunteer Wildfire Services during the big fires in March 2015 – Heroes In Red – and is one of the founders of the environmental group Fresh Air For Hout Bay - smells fishy?. Tickets to the show cost R100. Book at http://caferouxsessions.co.za/ai1ec_event/ike-moriz/

166. The False Bay Echo, page 6, Michelle Saffer, Cape Town, South Africa, 15.09.16: “Sizzling overseas"

 

photo by Guido Schwarz Photography

Singer, producer and actor Ike Moriz returns from a sold-out tour of northern Germany, teaming up with surprise guests to play in an intimate live session at Cafe Roux in Noordhoek Farm Village on Wednesday September 21, at 8pm. His tour was to promote his original swing/jazz/Latin CD #LoveSwings and to launch his smooth lounge album Debonaire. His songs have topped charts in the UK, Holland, South Africa and Germany, and top SA performers, such as Judith Sephuma and The Parlotones, have shared a stage with him. 

Since 2002, Ike has recorded 17 albums ranging from original melodic indie rock/pop to jazzy swing. He is recording a rock, pop and blues album – at Paris Zannos’s studio in Fish Hoek – called Gold Rush, reflecting on the insane times we’re living in. On the home front, Ike is a family man who wrote the anthem for the Volunteer Wildfire Services during the big fires in March 2015 – Heroes In Red – and he is one of the founders of the environmental group Fresh Air For Hout Bay.Tickets to the show cost R100. Book at http://caferouxsessions.co.za

165. Bergedorfer Zeitung, page 12, Thomas Voigt, Hamburg, Germany: “Ike Moriz & Kurt Buschmann love the blues and the swing"

 

More than 100 guests at the Castle Bergedorf concert yesterday in the courtyard: Ike Moriz (right) with saxophonist Kurt Buschmann. (Photo: T. Voigt)  

Bergedorf (tv). The courtyard rarely sees such a big crowd: More than 100 guests sat under the large awning-tent to listen to Bergedorfs own South African of choice Ike Morizs lunchtime concert. Castle restaurateur Ina Rump and Ike Moriz had invited to a "Love Swings Sunday" from 12pm - in reference to the title of his latest album. Together with his saxophonist Kurt Buschmann who delivered one polished solo after the other, Ike Moriz took his audience on a journey through blues and swing history: Louis Armstrong's "Hello Dolly", Latin American songs such as "Senor Blues" or " Georgia On My Mind ", then Rhythm 'n' Blues with “Hound Dog". And also Morizs own repertoire - such as "The devil is real in your mind" or the bittersweet tearjerker "This could be love" - ​​the nearly three-hour program was fun and entertaining, Moriz's distinctive voice was very versatile, his phrasing always spot on. The finger food by the castle kitchen rounded the Sunday off into a blissful, pleasurable experience. Ike Moriz began his career in London with rock music and independent rock, named none other than David Bowie as one of his role models of the time: “First I made blues, then jazz, then swing - and now I do it all because it's simply fun! His concert tour is now over, hes now going back home - to South Africa.

164. Hamburger Wochenblatt Bille, page 7, by Franziska Klotz, Hamburg, Germany, 03.08.16. (Photo by Guido Schwarz)

 

163. Sachsenwald Zeitung, page 9, Stefanie Rutke, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, 02.08.16: “Ike Moriz comes to Wohltorf to give a concert. A pop star from South Africa at the Tonteich"

    

162. Markt Weekly, page 20, O. Jahr, Reinbek, Germany, 30.07.16: “Wentorf boy does it big in Cape Town - Ike Moriz is a sizabe force in the South African music biz

 

161. Bergedorfer Zeitung, pg14, Thomas Voigt, 28.7.16, Germany: “4 times swing, pop, blues and jazz live - Ike Moriz sings at BeLaMi tonight

Bergedorf. A South African of choice is back in his Bergedorf home: jazz, blues, pop and swing musician Ike Moriz is giving a concert on Thursday from 8.30pm at the BELAMI club. Admission at the Holtenklinker Strasse 22 is free.

The very successful Southafrican singer and composer visits Bergedorf every summer and gives concerts here. This time he presents his 17th album: "Debonaire” - with Swing-songs of the 30's, that he enriched with highly modern lounge-jazz. "An experimental album," says Moriz, who already performed in Bergedorf City early July at the summer festival as well as two weeks ago, at the Bergedorfer Harbour Mile (Hafenmeile). Ike Moriz will also appear on Friday, August 5 at "PlanB" in the Suhrhof in Bergedorf and on Saturday, August 6, at 8pm at the Tonteich Open Air summer concert series in Wohltorf. Ike is especially looking forward to giving a concert at the Bergedorfer castle on Sunday 14 August by invitation of "Café la note": from 12-3pm he will present "Love Swings Sunday" based on Moriz's previous album release "Love Swings".  

"My summers in Bergedorf become longer every year," says Ike Moriz. "This time it's nine weeks. I’ll soon be called a swallow.” This is how South Africans call Europeans who spend the yearly European autumn/winter in the warm Southafrican sun.

(Photo by Thomas Voigt, taken on 27.7.16 at Cafe La Petite Rue)   

 

 

160. Bille Wochenblatt, Hamburg, Germany, 27.07.16

 

159. Bergedorfer Zeitung, “Today starts the Harbour Mile - Massive programme on 2 stages" 15.07.16, Germany

"… parallel to this, there is a visitor from South Africa on the port-club-stage: Ike Moriz, superstar from the Cape of Good Hope and born in Bergedorf, will present samples of the whole range of his repertoire from swing and blues to rock (from 9pm to midnight). He is accompanied by saxophonist Kurt Buschmann. The whole programme here: www.bergedorfer-hafenmeile.de.

    

158. Der Reinbeker, Lothar Neinass, Seite 25: Kulturelles Programm am Wohltorfer Tonteich, Deutschland, 11.07.16 

“… Direkt aus Südafrika kommt der Sänger Ike Moriz am 6. August zu einem Swing Konzert an den Tonteich. Auch wenn der Sänger jetzt vorwiegend in Südafrika oder in London lebt, ist er mit Wohltorf und dem Tonteich bestens vertraut. Er wohnte mit seinen Eltern in Bergedorf und besuchte in Wentorf das Gymnasium. Nach dem Abitur studierte er in Hamburg, Dresden, Rotterdam und Kapstadt Popularmusik. Inzwischen ist er in England und Südafrika ein bekannter Sänger, der bereits mehrere Alben veröffentlicht hat. Der Auftritt mit Ike Moriz ist wohl einer der Höhepunkte im Kultur-Sommer 2016 am Tonteich…Der Eintritt zu allen Veranstaltungen ist frei. Zur Finanzierung des Programms bitten die Veranstalter um eine Spende."

    

(Foto: www.Topweddingsinger.co.za)

157. Markt - Weekly, Reinbek, Germany, 09.07.16 (gm/oja): “Jazz and Swing with Ike Moriz”

Reinbek (gm/oja). On Sunday, July 10 at 4pm, Kursana Villa Reinbek, (Am Rosenplatz 12) invites to a concert with the famous artist Ike Moriz. Time and again, the Bergedorf born actor and musician, who is a celebrated pop idol in his adopted home South Africa, returns to give concerts in Germany. On his appearance at the senior residence, he will present self-composed songs and classics from jazz and swing, such as the big hits of Frank Sinatra. Admission to the concert is free.

   

156. Heidi vom Lande - News from the city, Hamburg, Germany, 03.06.16: “Ike Moriz on tour 2016”

Hey Folks, this summer 2016, Ike Moriz leaves his south-african home of choice in Cape Town to go on tour in Northern Germany. He will also stop in Bergedorf again. In September 2015 I conducted the last interview with him, and now received his news via Facebook.

Brand New Songs

The charming jazz and pop star, producer and actor Ike Moriz will perform at various concerts in Germany this summer. Included in the live-package are his his two new CDs, which he has just presented in Cape Town. Those who cannot wait tillhis arrival in summer, can already purchase them on iTunes, Amazon, etc.

Much can be said: there are two times 13 brand new songs from the Swing / Jazz, smooth lounge and Latin / Easy Listening genres, specifically: 7 new Moriz compositions mixed with 6 new versions of old swing standards on "Love Swings" and 13 lounge-jazz songs on "Debonaire". In addition, Ike is also finalizing a rock album that is still to come out in 2016!

Biografie Ike Moriz

Since 2002, widely acclaimed international SA pop star, singer, producer & actor IKE MORIZ has created 17 albums ranging from original melodic indie Rock/Pop to Latin/Easy Listening, Lounge, Blues & Jazzy Swing (all available on iTunes). His songs are being played worldwide reaching No.1 in the UK, Holland, South Africa and Germany. This versatile artist has also acted in many major international feature films such as ‘Alfie’, ‘Shanghai Knights’ and ‘Love Actually’, and he appeared in local TV programs like ‘Showbiz Report’, ‘Top Billing’ & ‘Backstage’, as well as UK TV series ‘Eastenders’, ‘Family Affairs’ and ‘The Bill’ et al. Rock legend David Bowie awarded Ike’s songs repeatedly as ‘top song of the month’ on his web site!

And there is much more to know about South Africa's own indie pop idol: Click here or read my interview with him here.

Concerts in Germany

Ike has informed me that he will be visiting Hamburg from late June to mid-August 2016 -  and various concerts are planned. I will keep you posted regarding the exact tour dates.

Cape Town concert on YouTube

You can hear and see a few clips of his CD launch concert in Cape Town on youtube (see above)! I look forward to his visit to Northern Germany and especially to our Bergedorfwhere he will enchant us with South African flair. Your HeidivomLande

155. SARIE Tydskrift (page 10), February 2016, VIR SOFIA

In English: "On 'Love Swings' singer, songwriter and producer IKE MORIZ celebrates 'love' with 13 swing / jazz / latin songs. His admiration for the French language, a world of flavors, the film The Italian Job (that also featured Charlize Theron), the beautiful Tuscany (Italy) and singers like Frank Sinatra and Robbie Williams were the inspiration behind his songs. Expect well-known tracks like "On Days Like These", "That's Life" and "Fly Me To The Moon." One of his own compositions, "Sofia", is dedicated to his youngest daughter, Sofia Marie. Buy the CD via madri@inkt.co.za for R130 (excluding postage). Also available online on iTunes #LoveSwings #Sarie #IkeMoriz #CharlizeTheron Did you know? Sofia Marie's mother is beautiful Madri, sister of Nataniël.”

Op Love Swings vier sanger, lidjieskrywer en vervaardiger IKE MORIZ die liefde met 13 swing/jazz/Latynse liedjies. Sy bewondering vir die Franse taal, ’n wereld van geure, die rolprent The Italian Job (waarin Charlize Theron ook te sien was), mooie Toskane en sangers soos Frank Sinatra en Robbie Williams was van die inspirasie agter sy liedjiekeuses. Verwag bekende snitte soos “On Days Like These", “That’s Life” en “Fly Me To The Moon”. Een van sy eie komposisies, “Sofia”, is opgedra aan sy jongste dogterjie, Sofia Marie. Bestel die CD by Madri@inkt.co.za teen R130 (posgeld uitgesluit). Ook aanlijn beschikbaar by iTunes #LoveSwings #Sarie #IkeMoriz #CharlizeTheron

Het jy gewiet? Sofia Marie se ma is die mooie Madri, suster van Nataniel.

 

NEW CD ‘LOVE SWINGS' out now!! (order on iTunes here):

 


Read reviews from previous years:

Latest reviews 2007-2015

Reviews 2002-2007